Becoming Me

I was driving to the gym yesterday. I realized, I am the person I always thought I was destined to be. I think most people growing up have a list. I list of what they want to do, who they want to be, and in what time frame. In no way have I lived up to the time frame, and not a single ounce of me feels regret. But the list young me had all laid out, was true.

Now I cannot tell you the exact wording of this list but I know it went something like this; career, husband, travel to cool places, be a cool person, do awesome things. I know it sounds a little ridiculous now but as I grew I still wanted the same things. I just put it a little more eloquently.

I have a career. A very rewarding one. The same one I wanted since I was a little girl. I went straight from high school to university and completed my degree. Now I did it in a bit of a round about way, but I learned some amazing life lessons from it. And it wasn’t all that round about. Just an extra year and 4 program switches-all aimed toward the same end point. I am just finishing my fourth year at my job, and I love it every bit that I thought it would. Career- CHECK.

Husband. Hah. No thanks. Not right now. Check back at a later date.

Travel to cool places. Well this is my current goal. I have traveled a bit with what money I had through University. Now I have a little more at my disposal and have been saving I officially booked a trip last night. By myself. I am headed to Nicaragua. I never thought I would be able to go to such an amazing and unique place. I plan on traveling more and more frequent. Travel to cool places- currently working on but CHECK.

Do awesome things. This is probably the most subjective to anyone. In the last few months I started my journey in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. I think this is pretty bad ass. Now I am just beginning in a life long journey for BJJ, but I am excited to see where this takes me. Competing, athleticism, badassery. This is not the only thing I have done that I think is pretty awesome but it encompasses the nature of my goal quite well. Do awesome things- CHECK.

I think young me would be proud of who I am today. I know a year ago I would have never imagined this is where I would end up. Happy. Confident. Becoming who I always wanted to be.

Leave a Reply

